The Resource Adventures in eating : anthropological experiences in dining from around the world, edited by Helen R. Haines and Clare A. Sammells

Adventures in eating : anthropological experiences in dining from around the world, edited by Helen R. Haines and Clare A. Sammells

Label
Adventures in eating : anthropological experiences in dining from around the world
Title
Adventures in eating
Title remainder
anthropological experiences in dining from around the world
Statement of responsibility
edited by Helen R. Haines and Clare A. Sammells
Contributor
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
"Anthropologists training to do fieldwork in far-off, unfamiliar places prepare for significant challenges with regard to language, customs, and other cultural differences. However, like other travelers to unknown places, they are often unprepared to deal with the most basic and necessary requirement: food. Although there are many books on the anthropology of food, Adventures in Eating is the first intended to prepare students for the uncomfortable dining situations they may encounter over the course of their careers." "Many cultures place significance on food and hospitality, and whether sago grubs, jungle rats, termites, or the pungent durian fruit are on the table, participating in the act of sharing food can establish relationships vital to anthropologists' research practices and knowledge of their host cultures. Using their own experiences with unfamiliarand sometimes unappealingfood practices and customs, the contributors explore such eating moments and how these moments can produce new under-standings of culture and the meaning of food beyond the immediate experience of eating it. They also address how personal eating experiences arid culinary dilemmas can shape the data and methodologies of the discipline." "The main readership of Adventures in Eating will be students in anthropology and other scholars, but the explosion of food media gives the book additional appeal for fans of No Reservations and Bizarre Foods on the Travel Channel." "Helen R. Haines is a research associate at Trent University Archaeology Research Center and teaches anthropology at Trent University and the University of Toronto-Mississauga." "Clare A. Sammells is assistant professor of anthropology at Bucknell University."--Jacket
Cataloging source
N$T
Dewey number
394.1/209
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
index present
LC call number
GT2850
LC item number
.A48 2010eb
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
  • dictionaries
  • bibliography
Label
Adventures in eating : anthropological experiences in dining from around the world, edited by Helen R. Haines and Clare A. Sammells
Publication
Antecedent source
unknown
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references and index
http://library.link/vocab/branchCode
  • net
Carrier category
online resource
Carrier category code
cr
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Color
mixed
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Contents
The importance of food and feasting around the world / Helen R. Haines and Clare A. Sammells -- Boiled eggs with chicks inside, or what commensality means / Robert Ivar Lohmann -- A rat by any other name : conflicting definitions of "dinner" in Belize, Central America / Helen R. Haines -- The delicacy of raising and eating guinea pig / David John Goldstein -- Termites tell the tale : globalization of an indigenous food system among Abaluyia of Western Kenya / Maria G. Cattell -- Ode to a Chuño : learning to love freeze-dried potatoes in highland Bolivia / Clare A. Sammells -- Durian : the king of fruits or an acquired taste? / Maxine E. McBrinn -- MSG and sugar : dilemmas and tribulations of a "native" ethnographer / Lidia Marte -- Eating incorrectly in Japan / James J. Aimers -- No heads, no feet, no monkeys, no dogs : the evolution of personal food taboos / Miriam S. Chaiken -- Buona forchetta : overeating in Italy / Rachel Black -- "No thanks, I don't eat meat" : vegetarian adventures in beef-centric Argentina / Ariela Zycherman -- Eating with the Blackfeet : who's been eating whose food? / Susan L. Johnston -- Drinking Ethiopia / Ronald Reminick -- You are what you drink in Honduras / Joel Palka -- Epilogue : Edibles and ethnic boundaires, globalization and guinea pigs / Miriam S. Chaiken
Control code
ocn677963298
Dimensions
unknown
Extent
1 online resource (xiv, 292 pages)
File format
unknown
Form of item
online
Isbn
9781607320159
Level of compression
unknown
Media category
computer
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
c
Other physical details
illustrations
http://library.link/vocab/ext/overdrive/overdriveId
22573/ctt45qb49
Quality assurance targets
not applicable
http://library.link/vocab/recordID
.b2627873x
Reformatting quality
unknown
Sound
unknown sound
Specific material designation
remote
System control number
  • (OCoLC)677963298
  • pebcs1457109395

Library Locations

    • Deakin University Library - Geelong Waurn Ponds CampusBorrow it
      75 Pigdons Road, Waurn Ponds, Victoria, 3216, AU
      -38.195656 144.304955
Processing Feedback ...